HarrellGuides: Drugs: Drug Information Databases

Drug Information Databases

AHFS 2014 (through StatRef)
DynaMed DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically -organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice. Updated daily, DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence. Through this process of Systematic Literature Surveillance, the best available evidence determines the content of DynaMed. Navigating EBSCO with JAWS
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics (Databases) The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics Objective, peer-reviewed evaluations of new FDA-approved drugs, and new information on previously approved drugs. Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter Unbiased reviews of drug classes used to treat common disorders. Includes the doses, adverse effects and the recommendations of expert reviewers. The Electronic Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, and a platform to obtain up to 50 CME/CE credits for physicians, PA's, pharmacists, and ARNP.
Micromedex Healthcare Series Contains fulltext information from AltMedDexTM System, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, TOMES and REPRORISK Systems, POISINDEX Managements, MARTINDALE, PDR, MSDS from United States Pharmacopeia, and other databases App information.
- This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (NMCD) The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides the most comprehensive listing of brand name product ingredients available giving a summary of safety, effectiveness, drug interactions, and adverse effects. Other clinical tools include a drug interaction checker and an effectiveness checker. Over 1,100 profiles of natural ingredients are included as well as Canadian licensed natural health products and herbal fixed combination products.
UpToDate UpToDate is a clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care. Access limited to Penn State Hershey campus only. Note that registration is required to earn CE credits for searching and to use the mobile app.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
1) On Penn State Hershey network, go to UpToDate.com and click the “register” link in the upper right.
2) Register for a free account on UpToDate.com using your own choice of user ID and password.
3) Download the free UpToDate app (on up to 2 devices) from the App store; you will need to supply the ID/password you created.
4) Now you can use the app continually for 3 months. When it expires you can use your same ID and password to log on to the app again while on the Penn State Hershey network and it should be good for another 3 months.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) One search allows you to review the formulary status and availability of any drug, as well as links to Lexicomp Patient Education materials and calculators. Access limited to on-site at the Penn State Hershey campus only. App information. *Note: The application may transfer a significant amount of data during installation, and it is recommended that you utilize an unlimited data plan or connect to a Wi-Fi network when installing or updating this product.* Lexicomp will only allow registration of one mobile device per person.