Basic Electrocardiography by
Electrocardiography is a simple investigation to perform, but accurate interpretation can be challenging. This book takes a logical and systematic approach to ECG interpretation, beginning with the basics of normal variations and dealing in turn with atrial abnormalities, ventricular enlargement, ventricular conduction defects and ischemic heart disease. Extensively illustrated with ECG tracings that complement the text, this book provides clear and concise explanations of traditional concepts of electrocardiography and combines them with updates on the most recent developments in the field. In 22 clinical cases, Professor Bayés de Luna illustrates the principles of the book by integrating electrocardiographic features with clinical findings for a thorough and methodical approach to cardiac disease. Regular self-assessments allow readers to evaluate their understanding of the ECG and reinforce key concepts. This book is an ideal introduction to normal and abnormal ECG patterns. It is particularly valuable for medical students, residents / junior doctors and nurses who wish to broaden their skills in electrocardiography.
Atlas of Black Skin by 
Clinical Dermatology by
The best-selling text has been completely revised and revitalised in this fifth edition, with the authors once again encouraging general practitioners, medical students, general physicians and early stage dermatology specialist trainees and interns to relish the unique challenge of diagnosing and treating skin conditions. Clinical Dermatology, 5th edition contains over 400 high quality pictures and diagrams combined with colourful phrases to illustrate and entertain as it teaches. The book has established a reputation as a 'way of learning' and as an accessible guide to the subject for the aspiring specialist. Readers are guided through the maze that too often lies between the presenting skin complaint and its final diagnosis and treatment. The authors have skilfully crafted an easily read text with enough detail to clarify the subject, but not enough to obscure it. This fifth edition contains new chapters on non-invasive physical treatment and dermoscopy, and new material on cosmetic dermatology, surgical dermatology, the skin and the psyche, and dermatoses of non-Caucasian skin. The text throughout the book has been updated in line with developments in the science and practice of dermatology. "... brilliantly succeeds in enticing you to look further. The writing is clear, and the joint British-American authorship avoids any parochial views." From a review of a previous edition in BMJ "...a very well-presented book...an excellent aid for teaching. I recommend this book highly to individuals and departments." From a review of a previous edition in J Derm Treatment "... provides a good overview of the structure and function of the skin as well as a good foundation for learning dermatology...well organized and includes a chapter dedicated to skin signs of systemic disease which is not covered in the other dermatology primers." From a review of a previous edition in JAMA
Clinical Radiology by
Written in an engaging, easy-to-read style, Clinical Radiology covers the topics most often included in introductory radiology courses and emphasizes clinical problem solving. The text offers guidelines for selecting imaging studies in specific clinical situations and takes a systematic approach to imaging interpretation, presenting a review of normal anatomy, technical and pathologic considerations, and diagnostic advice. The Fourth Edition includes: -NEW! Full-color design and illustrations -50 new images, updated to reflect the latest technology -Expanded coverage of neurotoxicity and radiation exposure -Additional "Diagnostic Pearls" included in each chapter -Bonus online material, including case studies, slides, and additional radiological images
CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An instant-access guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the conditions most likely to present in the emergency department A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Essential for anyone practicing in an emergency department or acute care setting, this new edition of CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Emergency Medicine strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity. It delivers exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes - no more, no less. Every chapter of this edition has been updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and developments, and the book is filled with high-quality illustrations designed to clarify difficult concepts. FEATURES: * Strikes the perfect balance between brevity and clinical necessity, delivering exactly the amount of information needed for quick diagnosis, effective treatment, and improved outcomes * Emphasizes the immediate management of life-threatening problems, then covers the evaluation and treatment of specific disorders * Priority-based and problem-oriented organization encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine, including common emergencies, trauma, and neonatal and pediatric emergencies * Extensive at-a-glance algorithms facilitate rapid decision making * Comprehensive tables of drugs commonly used in the ED
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by 
Dewhurst's Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) by 
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas, 8th Ed by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. INCLUDES DOWNLOADABLE VIDEOS AVAILABLE AT: mhprofessional.com/mediacenter A Doody's Core Title for 2019! More than 1,000 full-color photographs speed diagnosis of the dermatologic conditions most often encountered in primary care One of the bestselling dermatology books in the world, this quick-reference clinical guide has virtually defined the field for thousands of physicians, dermatology residents, and medical students for more than three decades. Spanning the entire spectrum of skin problems, Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, Eighth Edition combines laser-precise color images of skin lesions along with an overview of epidemiology and pathophysiology, and detailed information on diagnosis and treatment. Features: * Approximately 1083 full-color images, with more than 40% new to this edition * A color-coded 4-part organization facilitates review at a glance and includes helpful icons denoting the incidence and morbidity of the disease * ICD-10 codes are included for each disease * Thoroughly updated coverage of etiology, pathogenesis, management, and therapy * Many images highlight skin disease in different ethnic populations If you've been looking for a unique combination text, clinical reference, and color atlas that spans the entire field of dermatology, and has been trusted by thousands of clinicians and students, your search ends here.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twentieth Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by 
Introduction to Diagnostic Radiology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A practical clinically relevant introduction to diagnostic radiology Introduction to Basic Radiology is written to provide non-radiologists with the level of knowledge necessary to order correct radiological examinations, improve image interpretation, and enhance their interpretation of various radiological manifestations. The book focuses on the clinical scenarios most often encountered in daily practice and discusses practical imaging techniques and protocols used to address common problems. Relevant case scenarios are included to demonstrate how to reach a specific diagnosis. Introduction to Basic Radiology is divided into ten chapters. The first two chapters provide basic information on various diagnostic imaging techniques and control agents. Each of the following chapters discuss imaging of specific organ systems and begin with a description of the imaging modality of choice and illustrates the relevant features to help simplify the differential diagnosis. You will also find important chapters on pediatric radiology and women's imaging. Unlike other introductory texts on the subject, this book treats diagnosis from a practical point of view. Rather than discuss various diseases and classify them from the pathologic standpoint, Introduction to Basic Radiology utilizes cases from the emergency room and physician's offices and uses a practical approach to reach a diagnosis. The cases walk you through a radiology expert's analysis of imaging patterns. These cases are presented progressively, with the expert's thinking process described in detail. The cases highlight clinical presentation, clinical suspicion, modality of choice, radiologic technique, and pertinent imaging features of common disease processes.
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry by
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry, by Theodore A. Stern, Gregory L. Fricchione, Ned H. Cassem, Michael Jellinek, and Jerrold F. Rosenbaum, is your ideal source of guidance on consultation-liaison psychiatry! Experts from the Massachusetts General Hospital-widely respected as one of the world's premier psychiatric institutions-provide practical advice on the diagnosis and treatment of psychiatric issues experienced by in-hospital, medically ill adults and children. This compact resource reads like a handbook, but delivers all the details you'd expect from a textbook. Understand and manage the psychological impact of chronic medical problems, life-threatening diseases, disfigurement, and more. Effectively manage difficult patients, including those with hypochondriacal and conversion disorders. Find information quickly thanks to an improved chapter organization, and get just the answers you need with concise yet complete coverage appropriate for psychiatrists and generalists alike. Implement the most current, effective pharmaceutical therapies as well as cognitive-behavioral approaches. Access the complete contents online, fully searchable, at expertconsult.com. MGH-the leader in consultative liaison psychiatry-presents the latest edition of the handbook that has the comprehensive coverage of a textbook.
The Medical Interview by 
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need by
Clear and concise, The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need has provided quick and accurate discussions on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions for nearly 30 years. This ninth edition is packed with full-color illustrations, real-world clinical scenarios, and step-by-step instructions--giving you the practical guidance you need to use an EKG in actual clinical settings with patients. Outlines processes for identifying and interpreting arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, hypertrophy, atrial fibrillation, and other disorders. Features a lighthearted, lively writing style designed to be compelling and minimize confusion of principles discussed. New content added to reflect recent clinical and technological advancements. Depicts real-life clinical situations and provides important clinical context for EKG use. Advises on the dangers of over-reliance on computer interpretations and includes many other practical considerations that other books leave out. New EKG cases available in the companion eBook illustrate key concepts discussed throughout the book. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more.
Pharmacology by
On reserve at the library service desk.
Designed to help you learn and retain key information in pharmacology, this foundational text takes you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 5th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know, in a concise yet comprehensive manner that's easy to understand. Highly illustrated and formatted for quick reference, it's your go-to text for the must-know aspects of pharmacology you'll need for clinical problem solving and decision making. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Features useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. You'll also find an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style questions, and more. Includes the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications with new and updated drug information throughout.
Physician Assistant by
Here's the only book dedicated to giving you the complete information that you need to become an effective Physician Assistant and maintain those high standards in practice. This up-to-date edition covers all aspects of the physician assistant profession, the PA curriculum, and the PA's role in practice, all in an easy-to-use textbook format that features convenient tables and clear illustrations, as well as case studies and clinical application questions. You'll find this book invaluable throughout your course of study, when entering the job market, and as an excellent reference in clinical practice. And, with this Expert Consult title, you'll be able to search the entire contents of the book, online, from anywhere. Covers all the core competencies that you need to master for year one or for recertification, so you can excel. Gives you the information you need on all of the rotations and practice areas that are open to you to help you make the right decisions. Offers practical Pros and Cons box for each rotation and area of practice to aid in day-to-day decision making. Utilizes a fresh new two color format for better visual guidance. Focuses on clinical information with case studies included at the end of each chapter. Includes a new chapter on evidence-based medicine to prepare you for daily practice. Provides Expert Consult access so you can search the entire contents of the book, online. Includes a new chapter on Physician Assistants in international medicine to keep you on the cutting edge. Your purchase entitles you to access the website until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the website be discontinued.
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Behavioral Health by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their behavioral health rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The Behavioral Health edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in this specialty. Written by an experienced PA educator, this guide details the clinical approach to common presentations such as anxiety, depression, and substance use disorders. It also provides a systems-based approach to 40 of the most frequently encountered disorders you will see in this rotation, including bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and personality disorders. Distinguished by brief, bulleted content with handy tables and figures, the reference offers all pertinent psychiatric rating scales, screening tools, and diagnostic criteria needed to confirm a diagnosis. This guide also describes the urgent management techniques you will learn during the behavioral health rotation, including suicide risk assessment, management of delirium tremens, and use of restraints. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA behavioral health rotationDescribes common clinical presentations and mental health disordersOffers a step-by-step approach to diagnosis and treatment planningIncludes clinical pearls throughoutReflects the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes two bonus digital chapters Three guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning plus 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationalesIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family MedicineInternal MedicineEmergency MedicineSurgeryOB-GYNPediatrics
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Emergency Medicine by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their emergency medicine rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The Emergency Medicine edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in this specialty. Written by experienced PA educators, this guide details the clinical approach to common presentations such as chest pain, altered mental status, and headache. It also provides a systems-based approach to more than 40 of the most frequently encountered disease entities you will see in this rotation, including traumatic injury, cerebrovascular accident, and acute coronary syndrome. Distinguished by brief, bulleted content with handy tables and figures, the reference offers all pertinent laboratory and imaging studies needed to confirm a diagnosis, with medication and management guidelines. This guide also describes the most common procedures you will learn during the emergency medicine rotation, including incision and drainage, wound repair, and foreign body removal. Also included is a special chapter on non-medical situations you'll find in the emergency department, such as drug-seeking behavior, violent or incarcerated patients, and malingering and factitious disorders. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA emergency medicine rotationDescribes common clinical presentations, disease entities, and proceduresOffers clinical pearls throughoutReflects the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes three bonus digital chapters Guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning, 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationales, and additional resources to enhance your emergency department experienceIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family MedicineInternal MedicineSurgery OB-GYNPediatricsBehavioral Health
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family Medicine by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their family medicine rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The Family Medicine edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in this specialty. Written by experienced PA educators, this guide details the clinical approach to common presentations such as abdominal pain, headache and fatigue. It also provides a systems-based approach to more than 70 of the most frequently encountered disease entities you will see in this rotation, including diabetes, anxiety, and coronary artery disease. Distinguished by brief, bulleted content with handy tables and figures, the reference offers all pertinent laboratory and imaging studies needed to confirm a diagnosis, with medication and management guidelines. This guide also describes the most common procedures you will learn during the family medicine rotation, including incision and drainage, joint injections, and skin biopsies. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA family medicine rotationDescribes common clinical presentations, disease entities, and proceduresOffers a step-by-step approach to diagnosis and treatment planningOffers clinical pearls throughoutReflects the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes two bonus digital chapters Three guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning plus 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationalesIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Internal MedicineEmergency MedicineSurgeryOB-GYNPediatricsBehavioral Health
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Internal Medicine by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their internal medicine rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The Internal Medicine edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in this specialty. Written by experienced PA educators, this guide details the clinical approach to common presentations such as chest pain, dyspnea, and fever. It also provides a systems-based approach to more than 60 of the most frequently encountered disease entities you will see in this rotation, including cardiac arrhythmias, pneumonia, and hepatitis. Distinguished by brief, bulleted content with handy tables and figures, the reference offers all pertinent laboratory and imaging studies needed to confirm a diagnosis, with medication and management guidelines. This guide also describes the most common procedures you will learn during the internal medicine rotation, including bone marrow aspirate and biopsy, lumbar puncture, and thoracentesis. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA internal medicine rotationDescribes common clinical presentations, disease entities, and proceduresOffers a step-by-step approach to diagnosis and treatment planningIncludes clinical pearls throughoutComplements the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes two bonus digital chapters Three guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning plus 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationalesIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family MedicineEmergency MedicineSurgeryOB-GYNPediatricsBehavioral Health
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Ob-GYN by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their OB/GYN rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The OB/GYN edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in obstetrics and gynecology. Written by an experienced PA educator, this guide details the clinical approach to common obstetric and gynecologic presentations such as pelvic pain, abnormal uterine bleeding, and an overview of the initial prenatal visit. It also provides treatment and management details for more than 30 of the most frequently encountered disease entities you will see in this rotation, including cervical dysplasia, dysmenorrhea, and ectopic pregnancy. Distinguished by brief, bulleted content with handy tables and figures, the reference offers all pertinent laboratory and imaging studies needed to confirm a diagnosis, with medication and management guidelines. This guide also describes the most common procedures you will learn during your OB/GYN, including PAP test, colposcopy, labor induction, and cesarean delivery. A special chapter on urgent gynecologic and obstetric conditions, such as placental abruption, sexual assault, and severe uterine bleeding, is also included. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA OB/GYN rotationDescribes common clinical presentations, disease entities, and proceduresOffers clinical pearls throughoutPresents frequently encountered diagnostic studies and their indicationsReflects the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes two bonus digital chapters Three guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning plus 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationalesIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family MedicineInternal MedicineEmergency MedicineSurgeryPediatricsBehavioral Health
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Pediatrics by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their pediatrics rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The Pediatrics edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in this specialty. Written by experienced PA educators, this guide details the clinical approach to common presentations such as cough, fever, and skin changes. It also provides a systems-based approach to more than 60 of the most frequently encountered disease entities you will see in this rotation, including dermatitis, pharyngitis, and otitis media. Distinguished by brief, bulleted content with handy tables and figures, the reference offers all pertinent laboratory and imaging studies needed to confirm a diagnosis, with medication and management guidelines. This guide also describes the most common procedures you will learn during the pediatrics rotation, including foreign body removal, reduction of subluxed radial head, and administration of nebulizer treatments.A special chapter on management of urgent pediatric conditions, such as asthma exacerbation, head injuries, and fractures, is also included. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA pediatrics rotationDescribes common clinical presentations, disease entities, and proceduresOffers a step-by-step approach to diagnosis and treatment planningIncludes clinical pearls throughoutReflects the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes two bonus digital chapters Three guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning plus 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationalesIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family MedicineInternal MedicineEmergency MedicineSurgeryOB-GYNBehavioral Health
The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Surgery by
"A lifesaver - not just for PA students, but for faculty and administrators trying our best to prepare them. Perfect for students to read and use on rotation." - James Van Rhee, MS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Program Director, Yale Physician Assistant Online Program The first pocket-size resource to guide PA students through their surgery rotation Prepare for and thrive during your clinical rotations with the quick-access pocket guide series, The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year. The Surgery edition of this 7-volume series, discounted when purchased as a full set, delineates the exact duties required in this specialty. Written by an experienced PA educator, this guide details common surgical procedures you'll see, such as thyroidectomy, hernia repair, mastectomy, and appendectomy. It also provides important information on surgical emergencies, including gastrointestinal bleeding, perforated viscus, and limb ischemia. System-based chapters reviewing the presentation and management of common conditions that may require surgery are also included. Advice on taking good SOAP notes, guidance on how to prepare patients for surgery, and tips on surgical etiquette will help you excel during this intense rotation. Additional chapters on pre- and post-operative management of patients, sterile technique, and common wound closure methods will arm you with the knowledge you'll need to succeed. Key Features: Provides a pocket-size overview of the PA surgery rotationDescribes common surgical procedures and emergenciesOffers clinical pearls throughoutIncludes key abbreviations you'll need to decipher in documentationReflects the 2019 NCCPA PANCE blueprintIncludes two bonus digital chapters Three guided case studies to reinforce clinical reasoning plus 25 rotation exam-style questions with remediating rationalesIncludes full digital access on Springerpub Connect Other books in this series: The Physician Assistant Student's Guide to the Clinical Year: Family MedicineInternal MedicineEmergency MedicineOB-GYNPediatricsBehavioral Health
The Ultimate Guide to the Physician Assistant Profession by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The Ultimate Guide to the Physician Assistant Profession This indispensable guide is the next best thing to having a real-life PA mentor at your side. Based on the author's hard-won insights and extensive research as a student and professional PA, the book defines the PA's role; reveals the secrets for getting into and through a PA training program; and provides valuable tips for students to use during their clinical rotations. Above all, through the author's down-to-earth tone and use ofpersonal vignettes, it offers encouragement when you need it most--and lays the foundation for a fulfilling career centered on optimizing patient outcomes. The Ultimate Guide to the Physician Assistant Profession begins with an instructive look at the history of the profession, and subsequent chapters highlight exactly what it takes to excel in PA school; how to transition effectively from school to work; strategies for optimizing collaboration between physicians and PAs; and much more. Supporting this practical coverage are "Day in the Life" vignettes that feature engaging, hour-by-hour accounts of PAs at work across a range of unique settings and specialties, from administration and forensics, to family practice and cardiac critical care. FEATURES: Firsthand accounts written by 6 student PAs and 39 practicing PAs relate their personal experiences in a broad range of clinical specialties, delivering an engaging, real-world snapshot of the demands and opportunities of the PA profession In-depth chapter on effectively managing the transition from school to work covers central topics such as financial planning, the job search, what to include in your first job contract, meeting the expectations of supervising physicians, and much more Valuable appendices provide key information on physician assistant schools, physician assistant affiliations, plus a valuable glossary of important, commonly used medical terminology
Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, 19th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ophthalmology's cornerstone text enhanced by a vibrant new full-color presentation A Doody's Core Title for 2019! For nearly six decades, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology has offered authoritative, state-of-the-art coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of all major ophthalmic diseases, as well as neurological and systemic diseases causing visual disturbances. It is recognized world wide as essential reading for medical students, ophthalmology residents, practicing ophthalmologists, nurses, optometrists, clinicians in other fields of medicine and surgery, as well as those in health-related professions. The Nineteenth Edition builds on this tradition of excellence by offering a new full-color presentation, an increased number of color photos, and cutting-edge content additions and updates - to deliver all-inclusive coverage that encompasses pathophysiology, basic science, and the latest clinical perspectives. The most authoritative review of the subject: * 25 chapters that span the full breadth of ophthalmic disease * Contributions from more than thirty international experts * A comprehensive chapter on the ophthalmologic examination * An entire chapter devoted to pediatric interests * Extensive updates to chapters on the cornea, retina, orbit, neuro-ophthalmology, immunologic diseases of the eye, causes and prevention of vision loss, and lasers in ophthalmology If you are in need of a concise, up-to-date, and well-written overview of the basics of ophthalmology, Vaughan & Asbury's General Ophthalmology, Nineteenth Edition belongs on your desk.
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Eighth Edition by 
Basic Radiology, Second Edition by 
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology by 
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics 2E by 
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Orthopedics, Sixth Edition by 
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics, 27th Edition by 
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Rheumatology, Fourth Edition by 
Essential Clinical Anatomy by 
Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 2-Volume Set by 
Introduction to Diagnostic Radiology by 
Lookingbill and Marks' Principles of Dermatology by 
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases by 
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach by 
Radiology Fundamentals by 
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by 
