Databases that search Medline (use only one of these)
ALTBibALTBIB citations have been selected from articles, books, book chapters, and technical reports published from 1980 to 2000. These citations examine methods, tests, assays, and procedures that may be useful in establishing alternatives to the use of intact vertebrates.
Ovid (MEDLINE)The premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE is also available from EbscoHost or PubMed. Requires Hershey ePass Account.
Agricola ArticlesAGRICOLA indexes agricultural literature such as animal and veterinary sciences, poultry and dairy, entomology, plant sciences such as horticulture, crop and soil science, and plant pathology, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, rural and community development, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, food science, agricultural engineering, and earth and environmental sciences.
AnimAlt-ZEBETZEBET is scientific institution that aims to bring about the replacement of legally prescribed animal experiments with alternative test methods, to reduce the number of test animals to the absolutely necessary level and to alleviate the pain and suffering of animals used in experiments. ZEBET is responsible for documenting alternatives to animal experiment, for assessing them, for recommending their use both nationally and internationally. They are also involved in research of their own to develop alternative methods.
Biological AbstractsBiological Abstracts indexes more than 5,000 international journals in agriculture, biochemistry, biology, botany, molecular biology, biotechnology, physiology, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology, and ecology and the environment. Coverage is from 1926 to date.
BIOSISGet a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing only the Web of Science™ can provide. You can rely on comprehensive and relevant life sciences coverage that eliminates excess and delivers data that is accurate, meaningful and timely.
CAB AbstractsCAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors.
Database on Alternative MethodsThe EURL ECVAM is an international center for coordinating the validation of alternative methods, providing advice on theoretical and practical aspects of the validation of new tests, and the current state of validation of alternative methods for use in toxicology and the biosciences in general. DB-ALM (formerly called the Scientific Information Service -SIS) is a database on advanced alternative methods in biomedical sciences, providing factual and evaluated (therefore ready-to-use) informative data sheets on advanced non-animal test development and validation for toxicology assessments.
NORINA (A Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives)NORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching and training, including dissection alternatives, at all levels from junior school to University. The information in the database has been collected from 1991 until the present.
PsycINFOPsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes comparative studies in animal behavioral research. Also includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
ScienceDirectThis system provides access to electronic versions of Elsevier journals and books. Current issues and back files are included. Currently, it includes more than 1,200 journals. The full text collection contains over 1.5 million articles and book chapters from 1995 to present across all fields of science.
Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
ZFINThe Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN) is an online biological database of information about the zebrafish (Danio rerio). The zebrafish is a widely used model organism for genetic, genomic, and developmental studies, and ZFIN provides an integrated interface for querying and displaying the large volume of data generated by this research, and links these data to corresponding information about other model organisms (e.g., mouse) and to human disease databases. Links to external sequence databases (e.g., GenBank) and to genome browsers are included. Gene product, gene expression, and phenotype data are annotated with terms from biomedical ontologies. ZFIN is based at the University of Oregon, with NIH funding.
Zoological RecordZoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1864, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. The broad scope of coverage ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is not recommended for searches for alternatives for USDA animals as the search is not replicable.
When using PubMed, Google Scholar does not qualify as a second database. This is because Google Scholar indexes PubMed records.
If choosing between PubMed and Google Scholar, PubMed is the recommended database.
