HarrellGuides: Chaplain Services: Selected Databases

Collection Access and Support Services Librarian

Marie Cirelli

Email Me

Contact:

Please contact me with any recommendations.

Harrell Health Sciences Library: Research and Learning Commons C1618F

717-531-8640

Subjects: Chaplain Services, Nutrition, Orthopaedics

Research Databases

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 215,000 essay citations from over 15,700 multi-author works, and more than 446,000 book review citations. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online (Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion) The complete texts of the Oxford Handbooks in Business and Management, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Extensive links make the online Handbooks easy to navigate making these valuable reference resources more easily discoverable, accessible and searchable.
PubMed (MEDLINE) PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
World Religion Database The World Religion Database (WRD) contains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. It provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a definitive picture of international religious demography. It offers best estimates at multiple dates for each of the world?s religions for the period 1900 to 2050.

Wanting to understand a patient's condition? Try these clinical reference databases...

DynaMed DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically -organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice. Updated daily, DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals on a daily basis. Each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity. The new evidence is then integrated with existing content, and overall conclusions are changed as appropriate, representing a synthesis of the best available evidence. Through this process of Systematic Literature Surveillance, the best available evidence determines the content of DynaMed. Navigating EBSCO with JAWS
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate UpToDate is a clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care. Access limited to Penn State Hershey campus only. Note that registration is required to earn CE credits for searching and to use the mobile app.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
1) On Penn State Hershey network, go to UpToDate.com and click the “register” link in the upper right.
2) Register for a free account on UpToDate.com using your own choice of user ID and password.
3) Download the free UpToDate app (on up to 2 devices) from the App store; you will need to supply the ID/password you created.
4) Now you can use the app continually for 3 months. When it expires you can use your same ID and password to log on to the app again while on the Penn State Hershey network and it should be good for another 3 months.

Find More

The Harrell Library website provides access to a scoped list of primarily biomedical databases; however, Penn State Hershey Chaplains have access to all Penn State University Libraries' databases. Try searching all Penn State databases for more.