ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 215,000 essay citations from over 15,700 multi-author works, and more than 446,000 book review citations. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association.
HealthSTAR (Ovid )Comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. As such, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. As announced in October 2000, Ovid is offering Ovid Healthstar as a continuation of the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) now-defunct HealthSTAR database. Ovid Healthstar retains all existing backfile HealthSTAR citations and is updated with new journal citations culled from MEDLINE using the NLM's HealthSTAR search strategy. Information in Ovid Healthstar is derived from MEDLINE, the Hospital Literature Index, and selected journals. Access is through Ovid. Requires Harrell ePass Account.
JSTORJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
PubMed (MEDLINE)PubMed® comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CultureVisionPenn State Health offers a service through CultureVision that provides a comprehensive database to assist providers in providing culturally sensitive patient care. While this by no means is a substitute for talking to the patient and learning about their specific beliefs and practices, it does offer a starting point. You can access CultureVision only while you’re on the campus or through PSH VPN.
GenEthx: Genetics and Ethics DatabaseThis collection contains 45,536 bibliographic citations for resources that cover ethical issues related to human genetics including research, biobanks, etc. It is a database created by the staff at the Bioethics Research Library. The GenETHX citation database provides OpenURL and Digital Object Identifier (DOI) links to quickly search for publisher full-text access through Georgetown University's online database subscriptions (or through your local research institution).
Health and Society in VideoHealth and Society in Video defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society-- with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews.
Kanopy: HealthKanopy distributes online documentaries from a variety of filmmakers. This link provides direct access to the Health collection. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries. This link provides direct access to the Health collection.
LGBT LifeLGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for LGBT-specific core periodicals. Available through the University Libraries.
LITMED (Literature, Arts and Medicine Database)The Literature, Arts and Medicine Database (LitMed) is a collection of literature, fine art, visual art and performing art annotations created as a dynamic, comprehensive resource for scholars, educators, students, patients, and others interested in medical humanities. It was created by faculty of the New York University School of Medicine. The annotations are written by an invited editorial board of scholars from all over North America.
MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Click on the "More" tab, then select the "Patient education" tab for an A-Z list of topics.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context: Health and MedicineOpposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
UpToDate: Patient EducationUpToDate offers two levels of content for patients:
* The Basics are short overviews. They are written in accordance with plain language principles and answer the four or five most important questions a person might have about a medical problem.
* Beyond the Basics are longer, more detailed reviews. They are best for readers who want detailed information and are comfortable with some medical terminology.