Open Textbook Library: Medicine TextbooksThe Open Textbook Library is a comprehensive database of open textbooks. This is the link to the English language medical subset of this collection.
Critical Thinking in Health Care and Health Sciences [Insight Assessment]features essays and papers discussing the definition and importance of critical thinking in the health care field. Insight Assessment is company that provides both free and member resources related to critical thinking, including free resources focused on health care professions.
Health Humanities ConsortiumThe Health Humanities Consortium promotes health humanities scholarship, education, and practices through interdisciplinary methods and theories that focus on the intersection of the arts and humanities, health, illness, and healthcare.
Amish Studies: Health [Elizabethtown University]Amish Studies is an academic website developed by the Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies at Elizabethtown College to provide reliable information on Amish life and culture. This page provides an overview and resource list for healthcare-related issues for the Amish.
Health and Social Development [Institute for Social Policy and Understanding (ISPU)]ISPU conducts objective, solution-seeking research that empowers American Muslims to develop their community and fully contribute to democracy and pluralism in the United States. This is a collection of reports and publications that focus on American Muslim health issues.
Migrant Health Issues [Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN)]The health issues that face migrant and other mobile underserved populations are similar to those faced by the general population but are often magnified or compounded by their migratory lifestyle. The mission of the MCN is to serve the clinicians serving this population.
National Center for Rural Health WorksThe National Center for Rural Health Works provides tools and templates by which community residents can evaluate their health systems. This is typically accomplished by training state teams to assist rural communities. The Center develops tools and templates and provides training and technical assistance.
Hospice Foundation of AmericaThe mission of Hospice Foundation of America (HFA) is to provide leadership in the development and application of hospice and its philosophy of care with the goal of enhancing the U.S. health care system and the role of hospice within it. HFA does not monitor or regulate hospice providers.
National Hospice and Palliative Care OrganizationThe National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (NHPCO) is the largest nonprofit membership organization representing hospice and palliative care programs and professionals in the United States. The organization is committed to improving end-of-life care and expanding access to hospice care with the goal of profoundly enhancing quality of life for people dying in America and their loved ones. Some resources are only accessible by organization members.
Fine Arts and Medicine Resources
Arts in Health [Penn State Center Stage]The Department of Humanities strives to create an environment that integrates the healing power of art, music and creativity at Penn State Health. Two ways we do this are by supporting projects and initiatives through the Doctors Kienle Center for Humanistic Medicine and by hosting arts-based programs through Center Stage.
Disability Arts OnlineThis British-based organization offers a means for the wider arts sector to engage with disabled artists by sharing professional opportunities. listings cover disability arts and culture-related events as well as accessible performances of mainstream work.
Graphic Medicine [Graphic Medicine International Collective]Graphic Medicine is a site that explores the interaction between the medium of comics and the discourse of healthcare. We are a community of academics, health carers, authors, artists, and fans of comics and medicine. The site is maintained by an editorial team under the direction of the Graphic Medicine International Collective.
Graphic Medicine: Comics for Health and Medicine [National Library of Medicine (NLM)]This is a seven module program that introduces students to the use of graphic narratives (or comics) as a medium for communicating stories about health, illness, loss, suffering, and hope. It is adapted from a course from medical student course at the Penn State College of Medicine, but is suitable for anyone interested in the intersection of medicine (broadly construed) and comics.
MedHumChatMedHumChat (short for Medical Humanities Chat) strives to foster reflection, empathy, and connection in healthcare through engagement with the arts and humanities. The cornerstone of MedHumChat is our Twitter chats. The first and third Wednesdays of each month at 9pm EST we gather on Twitter under the hashtag #MedHumChat and discuss two works (poems, short stories, essays, paintings) on a shared theme. The works, discussion questions, and a handful of participant comments are later published on our website as discussion guides.
National Initiative for Arts and Health in the MilitaryThe National Initiative for Arts and Health in the Military advances the arts in healthcare, healing, and well-being for military service members, veterans, their families and caregivers.
National Organization for Arts in Health (NOAH)NOAH provides transformational leadership to bring the field of arts in health together, and to move the field forward. Their focus is on the future of arts, health, and wellbeing; and creating tangible impact from our goals and initiatives. It is known through research and experience that the arts are an integral component to health. NOAH is committed to shaping a reality where that fact is accepted fully, and incorporated into medical treatment, medical education, prevention, and public health and well-being.
Performing Arts Medicine Association (PAMA)PAMA is an organization comprised of dedicated medical professionals, artists educators, and administrators with the common goal of improving the health care of the performing artist.
Sound Health Network [National Endowment for the Arts (NEA)]The Sound Health Network (SNH) is partnership of the National Endowment for the Arts with the University of California, San Francisco in collaboration with the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, and Renée Fleming, the center’s artistic advisor. The SHN was established to promote research and public awareness about the impact of music on health and wellness.
Hastings CenterThe Hastings Center addresses social and ethical issues in health care, science, and technology. Through their projects and publications, and analyses, The Hastings Centers influences professional practice: from end-of-life care to psychiatric practice to immigrant health care, we have helped to shape the standards of practice adopted by physicians, nurses, and lawyers.
NIH Department of BioethicsThe NIH Department of Bioethics is one of the nation's preeminent centers for bioethics scholarship and training. The Department of Bioethics is part of the NIH Clinical Center, and combines a rigorous academic environment with a commitment to clinical bioethics service at the NIH.
National Conference of State Legislatures: HealthThis is a bipartisan non-governmental website established to serve the state legislatures of the U.S. This specific page covers health-related topics, including information about proposed changes to the law.
Pennsylvania Code: Title 28: Health and SafetyThese are provisions of Pennsylvania law covering general health, local health, prevention of disease, health facilities, state-level drug and alcohol programs, cost containment, emergency medical services, the WIC Program, and medical marijuana.
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board (PLCB): LegalThe PLCB Office of Chief Counsel is the agency’s legal authority, offering guidance on matters related to beverage alcohol regulation and licensing.
Online legal resources available to licensees and the public from the PLCB include:
Advisory Notices – General general guidance issued by the Board addressing a specific subject. They may arise as a result of change to the Liquor Code or the Board’s Regulations, or they may address topics of popular interest.
Advisory Opinions – Issued to licensees to clarify matters related to the Liquor Code or the Board’s Regulations.
Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Program [Commonwealth of Pennsylvania]The Pennsylvania Department of Health is in the process of implementing the state’s Medical Marijuana Program. When fully implemented, the Medical Marijuana Program will provide access to medical marijuana for patients with a serious medical condition through a safe and effective method of delivery that balances patient need for access to the latest treatments with patient care and safety. This guide will connect you with medical marijuana resources and information for patients and caregivers, growers and processors, dispensaries, physicians, and laboratories.
MedlinePlusMedlinePlus brings together authoritative information on over 700 diseases and conditions from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus is updated daily. This resource is designed for educational use only and not intended to replace advice from a health professional. Learn more about MedlinePlus at http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/medlineplus.htm.
Hand-Off Communications [Patient Safety Movement]This is a blueprint outline of what frontline staff, unit managers, hospital executives, and patients & families can follow to prevent handoff communication errors.
Physician Well-Being
Clinician Well-Being Knowledge Hub [National Academy of Medicine]This website is intended to provide an easy-to-navigate repository of helpful resources for those seeking information and guidance on how to combat clinician burnout in their organizations and in their personal lives.
